Spread the love


The below four phrases in Sanskrit are called Mahavakya.

MahaVakya means the entire philosophy distilled to one great sentence.

  1. Prajñānam Brahma == Insight is Brahman.

The above phrase is found in Aitareya Upanishad of Rigveda.

2. Ayam Ātmā Brahma == The Self is Brahman.

The above phrase is found in Mandukya Upanishad.

3. Tat Tvam Asi == You are that ( Consciousness)

Above Phrase found in Chandogya Upanishad.

4. Aham Brahmāsmi == I am Brahman.

What is Brahman?


Brahman is that which is Absolute, fills all space, is complete in itself, to which there is no second, and which is continuously present in everything, from the creator down to the lowest of matter. It, being everywhere, is also in each and every individual.

We should not misinterpret consciousness as our “I” ness.

what is consciousness as per Vedanta? please see below

What Happens if you realize the above?

Answer: I believe Nothing special happens, as to date we have not seen any evidence of any special thing happening to somebody. all we hear is something special happens, The deep understanding of this may liberate you from “Dukkha“.

So what is the significance of learning above?

We will get an entirely different perspective of how to think differently about our existence and the cause of our existence.